📢 Actions Speak Louder Than Words!

My FOSS contributions and rants on Feb-April 2021

Posted: Apr 18, 2021 | Reading time: 2 min
⚠️ Warning: This post is over a year old, the information may be out of date.
📢 I’ve moved to a new website. Please visit me at https://journal.robbi.my !
post

My rants and contributions to FOSS in Feb - April 2021

  • Involve with Debian and joined Debian Med teams, thank you Andreas Tille.
  • I intend to help Steffen Möller to package python-scanpy by fixing blocker and I end up packaging it missing dependencies which are python-sinfo and python-stdlib-list . Many thanks to who teach me how to packaging and Nilesh Patra for sponsoring me. The work on scanpy still unfinished, there is still leftover to do. WIP.
  • At same time I also send another ITP for python-scanorama, it working but the unit test asking for another missing package called as annoy from spotify and fbcpa from facebook.
  • Both missing package I able to rebuild locally but I not sending ITP yet. I send a request to Debian Python Team to join them and place both of this package under it.
  • I still contribute to Fedora as QA and few stuff. Another point, recently (actually few month ago but nvm, just put here), Izhar aka Kagesenshi get highsugar and re-activate the local community (Fedora Malaysia) via discord. He also setup a new team called Fedora Data Engineering SIG
  • After a while using and involve (contribute) with Fedora for fews years, I sometimes get a feel that Fedora and Red Hat moving so fast on everything and feel it not community oriented it more like leader oriented, take a look on something worth called as “flamewar” on Fedora-devel list which debate on changes on os-release.. check the Wiki here

There is few’s more contribution but I not keep track it properly, will update when I remember it 🤪

Edit

Have some thoughts, discussion or feedback on this post?
IndieWeb Interactions

Below you can find the interactions that this page has had using Indieweb. Which means, you can mentioned this URL on any website that support WebMention. Have you written a response to this post? Let me know the URL:

((Do you use a website that do not set up with WebMention capabilities? You can use Comment Parade.)


Comments and replies

  • 💬 Anonymous: The video speaks in passing about the latest Microsoft attack pattern (on Free software). The good news from Debian is also mentioned in passing [1, 2, 3]. Well done, Debian Project. Not another ‘Open’ SUSE or ‘Open’ Red Hat (IBM), a.k.a. Fedora. Incidentally, Robbi Nespu has just said: “After a while using and involve (contribute) with Fedora for fews years, I sometimes get a feel that Fedora and Red Hat moving so fast on everything and feel it not community oriented it more like leader oriented…” Leader or master? IBM is the master of the project, and it really shows. Let’s hope tomorrow will be more productive than today’s utter chaos — a problem engineered by broken updates imposed by proprietary software vendors. -- http://techrights.org/2021/04/18/firmware-ruins-whole-day/