📢 Actions Speak Louder Than Words!

Time to learn Javascript

Posted: Mar 2, 2019 | Reading time: 2 min
⚠️ Warning: This post is over a year old, the information may be out of date.
📢 I’ve moved to a new website. Please visit me at https://journal.robbi.my !
post

I am so bored with Java and PHP stack. Now Javascript are the most trending programming language since NodeJS was introduced. I not aware and fully understand the growth of Javascript compare to PHP or Java. In easy word, I can say Spring or JakartaEE (previously know as JavaEE) is the famous framework for Java and Laravel for PHP, but how about Javascript?

Hearing stuff about react, vue, ecmascript, typescript.. what are this stuff actually? It make me wonder why these word are so trending among developers.

One interesting discussion was “One for all”, which they mean Javascript language will cover-up front-end and back-end of your system. This is interesting. JavaScript’s rising popularity has brought with it a lot of changes, and the face of web development today is dramatically different. The things that we can do on the web nowadays with JavaScript running on the server, as well as in the browser, were hard to imagine just several years ago, or were encapsulated within sandboxed environments like Flash or Java Applets.

I choose NodeJS

Node.js is an open-source, cross-platform JavaScript run-time environment built on Chrome’s V8 JavaScript engine (an open-source JavaScript engine developed by The Chromium Project for Google Chrome and Chromium web browsers).

Somehow, NodeJS represents a “JavaScript everywhere” paradigm, unifying web application development around a single programming language, rather than different languages for server side and client side scripts as I told you before.

Non-blocking, event-driven I/O is what I looking forward with this language. Efficient is key for data-intensive real-time system as it’s capable of handling a huge number of simultaneous connections with high throughput, which equates to high scalability.

The other reason is, I don’t know if there is another famous Javascript framework right now :P

Edit

Have some thoughts, discussion or feedback on this post?
IndieWeb Interactions

Below you can find the interactions that this page has had using Indieweb. Which means, you can mentioned this URL on any website that support WebMention. Have you written a response to this post? Let me know the URL:

((Do you use a website that do not set up with WebMention capabilities? You can use Comment Parade.)