πŸ“’ Actions Speak Louder Than Words!

I have been using Jekyll for 4 years

Posted: Jul 10, 2020 | Reading time: 2 min
⚠️ Warning: This post is over a year old, the information may be out of date.
πŸ“’ I’ve moved to a new website. Please visit me at https://journal.robbi.my !
post

Not much anything to update on my blog but let just update with this post.

I have been using Jekyll since 2017 until now. I quite satisfied with how it work. For me, Jekyll are simple and elegant! I been involve with web tech since 2007 (I think so) which I start from blogspot then self host cms like xoops, joomla, wordpress and drupal.. nothing can beat Jekyll. Plus now I don’t need to pay a single cent for host, thank to gitlab and github CI/CD supports.

Maybe it because my sole purpose is to just have a website to put diary, show-off some portfolio, write-up note, highly customizable and I don’t want to pay for hosting. So using static web is perfect for me. How about you?

Jekyll is a simple, blog-aware, static site generator for personal, project, or organization sites. Written in Ruby by Tom Preston-Werner, GitHub’s co-founder, it is distributed under an open source license.

Instead of using databases, Jekyll takes the content, renders Markdown or Textile and Liquid templates, and produces a complete, static website ready to be served by Apache HTTP Server, Nginx or another web server. Jekyll is the engine behind GitHub Pages or gitlab pages (a feature that allows users to host websites based on their git repositories for no additional cost).

When I adopting Jekyll, ruby programming language are so famous and been use a lot by startup hipsters, but know ruby is quite left behind. javascript and golang is the new trend right now.

I don’t have plan to migrate using another weblog engine such as Ghost or Hugo but If someone ask me how to create static website then I might directly suggest them using Ghost or Hugo.. hehe, why? Because right now they community are bigger then Jekyll so it easier to get help if you need to debug or patch something. Jekyll also a little bit slower compare to hugo or ghost.

It just my opinion. You are free to use Jekyll if you want. It really comes down to determining how you’re most comfortable working and what your site needs as for me, I will stick using Jekyll.

Edit

Have some thoughts, discussion or feedback on this post?
IndieWeb Interactions

Below you can find the interactions that this page has had using Indieweb. Which means, you can mentioned this URL on any website that support WebMention. Have you written a response to this post? Let me know the URL:

((Do you use a website that do not set up with WebMention capabilities? You can use Comment Parade.)